Words

I have kicked around the idea of blogging for a couple of years. I never knew how to get started, meaning what to write, how to write it, not how to put up a blog. (Confession: I have a personal blog but it’s pretty much just for family and friends and I haven’t updated it in over a year even though we live across the country, sorry guys) I have felt like this type of writing could be good for me, but I was always afraid. Afraid of having people I know read it. Having so many who know me actually know more of me. I probably over think a lot, but I like to ponder and get things right the first time or hopefully in the first few tries. I’m weird about things most people could care less about, i.e. can’t have a blog if I don’t have a good name for it. So the idea sat on the back-burner for a long time.

Then one day I thought about it again, and everything seemed to work out this time. I found a cool name and a way to be anonymous until I can get over that fear I mentioned above. Not everything I’m going to say on this blog is going to be profound. But hopefully there are a few little nuggets here and there. I write mostly for me, but hope that my words and experiences can help others. I have been helped by many others’ words, and would love to pass that along. There may be many posts, especially early on, that are more solemn feeling as I heal. Well heck, these trials and this healing process it one of the things that came together to start this blog in the first place. But it won’t be all I write, it’s not all that I want this blog to be about. It should be more, because I am more. I am more than my trials, and I am more than healing from them. We are multi-dimensional people here. And sometimes we forget that, about ourselves and others.

Words are powerful. Words have the power to heal, to hurt, to uplift or to bring down. What kind of power do we want our words to have? I want my words to help heal and uplift, and hopefully, even if I am talking about my hard times and trials, even if it’s one of my bad days or I need to vent, hopefully my words together can still bring that message across.

Today in church we talked about a few different subjects, but as we talked I found that they all are actually connected. We talked about seeking after knowledge, about having trust in God, and in the power of words. We believe in my church that we are here to learn to be more like God. So we have to seek knowledge and wisdom since we’re here to learn right?

Receive my instruction, and not silver; and knowledge rather than choice gold. For wisdom is better than rubies; and all the things that may be desired are not to be compared to it.

Proverbs 8:10-11

So here is instruction for us to specifically seek learning. But how is learning things becoming like God and helping us trust Him? Both answers come from the same place, the knowledge that God knows all things. If we are to become like Him then we must be trying to learn what He knows (that ain’t all happening down here though!) And it would be a lot harder to trust or have faith in someone who didn’t know more than us to help guide us where we need to go right? Samuel tells us that “the Lord is a God of knowledge” (1 Sam 2:3) and Job goes on further to tell us that He “is perfect in knowledge” (Job 37:16). So now seeking knowledge and trusting in God are connected.

And then we went on to talk about words, our words. And I thought words are how we share knowledge. We talked a lot about how our words can effect others. And how we would all like to be better at giving uplifting words to all help each other on this mortal journey. I mean who doesn’t want to hear something positive about themselves or about life? And sometimes we really need those kind words in our lives. Hopefully we can all do a little better to make our words a little kinder in all of daily interactions. It will not only help uplift others, but also ourselves. And who knows, maybe even help us to be more positive in general. Be kind in your words, especially to yourself. Don’t be the person who is always yelling at you, or putting you down. You don’t need that, life is already hard enough.

2 thoughts on “Words

  1. I had the same feeling before starting my blog.. And even I’m on the anonymous mode.. But I think we adapt.. Because we try..!! Again n again!
    Hope you have a happy time blogging! Btw, nice post! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

