Courage

I think some people are born with it. I know anyone can gain this attribute. I know that we all have it to one degree or another.

It’s funny actually, that we all have it in some way, but many of us feel that we don’t. I don’t feel like I have it. In thinking about this, I have come to discover that I have let my shyness somewhat define me. I think of myself that way, instead of thinking it is a part of me. I feel that I used to have more courage when I was younger.

We traveled a lot when I was a kid. My mom worked for an airline, and so we got to go on adventures. I was always excited to go see someplace new. I never minded sleeping in the airports (casualty of flying stand-by), in fact it was kind of fun. Now I get anxious before going on a trip, even to places I’ve been. And I would not have so much fun sleeping in airports now. I even get anxious just going on a day trip to somewhere close by. I’m not sure how or when this changed. But it did. Luckily for me I have a fantastic husband who helps me through it, and makes us go anyway, so as to not allow this anxiousness get in the way of memories and fun.

I guess a sense of adventure might be more appropriate than courage in this. Sometimes they can be the same, sometimes they go hand in hand, needing one to have the other. In knowing this change in me, but not knowing how or when it did, I wonder how to change it back. How do I get rid of the anxiousness and get back the courage and adventure? How do you? What kinds of things do you do to help you do something difficult? How do you psych yourself up?

Leave a Reply

