You Threw My Off My Groove!

Over the past 5 or so years I’ve gotten very anxious before going on any trip. I remember two years ago we planned a day trip to Salem, MA, and I started feeling like maybe we shouldn’t go. So much so that I mentioned it to DrH. Seriously a day trip, and I felt so anxious that I was ready to call it in. In the end I’m always glad that we’ve gone, and I feel like we all have had a lot of fun. So I’m very grateful for a husband that can calm my fears and anxieties, and talk me down from the ledge (the ledge of letting the fear and anxiety win).

This past weekend we were able to take a trip to NY. DrH was finally done with a set of horrendous rotations, and as an added bonus even had Friday off. Three day weekend! I can’t tell you how good it felt to have that after 4-5 months of hanging in there. We were also able to take a nice trip to Canada earlier this year. And what do these two trips have in common? This year going on trips has become exciting again. I realized that this past year I have not had the same anxiety before any of the trips. Just happiness to be spending great time with my family, and excitement about going somewhere together.

The difference of before and after? I think it’s the medication.

Depression, you threw off my groove!

I’m still not sure what to do with myself now that my kids are both in school, and we are unable to have more. I’m still figuring out who I want to be fully. I’m still getting over not having my little girl. But I am grateful to enjoy life again!05

 

Leave a Reply

