Forgiveness and Healing

Today I am struggling to forgive a complete stranger for a difference of opinion. It is hard not to allow their words to effect me. Underneath it all I know they mean no harm in what they say, just stating what they think. But it is hurtful to me in my situation. And they have written it in response to my words.

Oh Facebook, you make me laugh at silly message threads and let me see what’s going on with my family. Sometime you are the only way I know what is going on with them. But you also bring me down for a number of other reasons. This is sometimes one of them.

But I know that without forgiveness I cannot heal. I’m grateful that forgiveness does not equate condoning. It is simply letting go of something that you don’t need to hold onto. It is allowing that we all make mistakes. It is moving on.

Forgiveness is not for you. It is for me. It is so I can heal and not cling to things that hurt me, that make me sad. So I forgive you for that part of your comment that hurt me. Maybe one day you more intimately know why it hurt. But I hope not. I only hope that one day you can see things from another point and be more kind in what/how you say things.

There is no peace in reflecting on the pain of old wounds. There is peace only in repentance and forgiveness. This is the sweet peace of the Christ, who said, “blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.”

Pres. Gordon B Hinkley

There will be many dandilions along my path. And I must decide if my energy is better spent trying to keep them whole, or to make a wish and blow it out of my life.

Leave a Reply

