TT: Modern Medicine

Thankful Thursday Logo bWithout modern medicine either me or my boys wouldn’t be here. Maybe even both. It has given DrH a couple of careers now. It makes saneness possible for me. It’s no secret (here at least) that I deal with depression. Modern medicine has been able to give quality of life back to me through medication. I am so grateful for that medication! Depression is a hard battle that few understand. It is becoming more openly talked about so that more are aware of what it can be like. But still, if you haven’t had to deal with it, it’s hard to fully understand just how encompassing it can be.

Depression is something that I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy. It makes me sad to hear that anyone else has to experience it. It encompasses you with such hopelessness, and horrible thoughts. And even if you take medication for it, you still somewhat deal with it. You always remember what it felt like, and worry that you could have to deal with it again any time. Some days you feel a slight dip towards it. It is such a lonely feeling, and those horrible thoughts are your truth. As you start taking medication you start the slow climb out of all that. And slowly you see that what you thought of as truth and reality was all a lie. You start to see things more clearly and you slowly start to want to do things again. You start transforming from the zombie that took you over, back into yourself.

I found out just how much the medication helps; I wrote about it in this post. There are still days that I struggle to figure out just who I am as a person. I dealt with it for so long, that it has been hard to remember exactly who I was before. And then also coming to some crossroads in my life at the same time, I have to figure out where to go from here. I don’t know how long it will take, but eventually I will know what I want to be when I “grow up.” But I know that I could never figure any of this out if I didn’t get the help I needed for depression first.

I am thankful for all of the miracles God has given me through modern medicine. Many people grumble about medicine these days, but honestly folks! we are a long way from horrible remedies of the past, that were so innovative in their day. I’m grateful for the miracle of life that me and my two boys get to experience because of medicine today! I’m grateful that today’s medicine isn’t leaches and tonics. I’m grateful for the many huge amounts of hours and money that doctors have spent to learn how to care for us. I’m grateful for their ability to figure out how to care for my symptoms that are the same as someone else’s but is an entirely different issue, even if it takes a few tries. And I am grateful for medication that has been researched and works. In short, I am thankful for modern medicine!

Leave a Reply

