TT: Application Time

Thankful Thursday Logo bThe time is fast approaching when we have to turn in application stuff for residency programs. It’s a lot of info and touch up work to get squared away. And on top of trying to advertise how much they should want to pick us for their program, we have to go through a billion program sites. Ok, a billion might be a slight exaggeration, but it feels like it. (and we’re only looking at about half the country) We are looking at maybe applying to 30-40 places, it’s a different number for every person. So it’s like trying to pick the 40 best places you want to live (that you’ve never been to), that also will have the type of atmosphere in the program that fits DrH and I, oh and we should probably know if the schools for B1 and 2 are superb or crap. Not to mention cost of living, I mean you can live in the best place in the world, but it won’t be the best if you can’t afford to live there.

I don’t have to put in as much time and energy as DrH, but I am glad my Photoshop skills can benefit him. I’ve been making his CV look professional, yet memorable, and plan on making his Personal Statement match. It’s a small thing, but it makes me happy that I can help him in this way.

But then it’s anyone’s guess where we’ll end up. There are still interviews to be had and matching to go through. So if you throw in any old place or residency program, you might end up stuck there. It’s a really weird feeling to be looking at places to live, trying to figure out where you’d like to live, and then really have no say in where that place ends up being.

I am NOT NOT looking forward to the cost of applying and interviewing, but I am excited that we’re moving forward. My only wish is that every time we move we get to take the good stuff with us, friends and places. Alas I must live in reality.

Leave a Reply

