Its Coming!

2 weeks!!!! Ahhhhhh, that’s all we have left before we move. Moving is one of those things that always seems like it’s next month. But then you realize it’s for real happening, and not in the dreamy future, but now! Always a weird feeling, that.

When I got married I moved out of the parent’s house and never looked back. Would have liked to move out sooner, but couldn’t afford rent AND film/processing (photo major). But we still lived around the same area that I knew. Fast forward a bunch of years, when we found out we got into Med School in New England… Well that was truly my first time moving away from home. It was hard. I felt sad that I couldn’t take all the good things with me and continue on. Life was going to go on without me there, and I was going to miss it all.

My family was having a family reunion the week we moved and posting pictures on Facebook. It kinda really sucked the first few weeks. And it was harder than I thought it would be. When we went home for Christmas that first year, I was just barely starting to feel like we belonged in New England. But then going home was weird. It didn’t feel like home for the first time in my life. And when we got back to New England, it didn’t quite feel like home anymore either. For a few months I felt like I didn’t belong anywhere. And then it was home, and going to the west was visiting.

And now I have to leave home again. But this time I know better what type of emotions to expect, and that I can get through it. It’s sad leaving, but we aren’t the only ones moving on this time. Nor are we the first in our group of friends from out here. I still expect to feel homesick and all that, but I feel more excited and ready emotionally this time. And I’m excited to see what adventures will come our way from this move. T-2 weeks till real Mexican food! Bigger beaches! And a whole lot of unknown fun!

Leave a Reply

